Not Even a Visa

Yesterday was the first day of second semester. Much to my dismay, I could not be at school. While I didn’t have anything as cool as Dan did when he had a sub, I was able to get live updates from my trusty student aide.

One of the seniors in 8th period was a bit confused by the set up. I was informed by Andy that she was talking to the computer (“Hey Mrs. B” ) asking if I could hear her. Apparently this soon to be college freshman was befuddled by instant messaging.

Digital immigrant? I don’t think so.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Not Even a Visa

  1. diane says:

    LOL!

    Evidently this student understands the concept of Skyping without knowing what it is or how to do it.

    I’m more of a digital tourist myself. Desire and a curious mind are the tickets to travel in cyberspace.

    diane

  2. Robert says:

    Another data point against the concept of the “digital native”.

  3. ken says:

    Before I begin, I’m not a Star Trek fan:

    In Star Trek IV, the crew arrives in LA, circa 1985. Obviously, Earth is a bit technologically backward for the crew, and at one point, they need a computer.

    They are with an engineer and he allows them to use his computer.

    One of the Star-Trekkers leans in toward the monitor and says, “computer…”

    The engineer looks on, befuddled, but then helps by pushing the mouse over to the Trekker. Trekker picks up the mouse, holds it in front of his mouth, and says, “computer…”

    Maybe your student is a Star Trek fan.

    Maybe.

  4. Jackie says:

    *laughing and laughing*
    I am a Star Trek fan. I’d be willing to bet the student mentioned here would be aghast at being called a fan.

    But I like your idea a whole lot better.

  5. Sarah says:

    Wow. Of all the technologies that I would love to teach my students (given resources and making time), IMing is not one that I’d think of. I’d just assume that they all know how it works and want to keep them away from the procrastination.

    I love the Star Trek explanation. Obviously, she’s so adapted to advanced technology that the old school stuff confuses her.

  6. Jackie says:

    Yep. I keep thinking they can’t surprise me anymore – yet they do.

Leave a Reply

