I’m Sorry

When I saw Jen Wagner’s post on Twitter and David Jakes’ comment last night, I felt awful. While I was not one who “wore” one of the costumes on Halloween, I did reference it in my post on 11/1 with a link to a Flickr page. Please believe there was no malicious intent on my part and I am now remorseful.

Last night, I immediately severed the link and made an amendment to the post. However, I feel that just quietly making these changes is the coward’s way out, hence this post.

David Jakes, I am sorry.

I have been given a lot to think about.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m Sorry

  1. I don’t think David was completely upset by it specifically. http://flickr.com/photos/shareski/1810910438/

    His comments here would indicate otherwise.

    My take on his comment in the Wagner post was with people taking liberties with his friendship. I for one have a relationship with David outside of twitter. However, if twitter is the only place you know someone, it may be the place to assume certain things.

  2. Jackie says:

    Yes, but this could be construed as taking liberties… as I don’t know David. Hence my apology.

    If he wasn’t upset about this that is fine, I’d rather wrongly apologize than not do so at all.

  3. Jennifer says:

    Hi Jackie

    I agree – regardless of his response, it is always wise to do what you feel is most appropriate.

    Thanks for taking the time to post.
    Jennifer

  4. Jackie says:

    Thanks Jennifer. It seems I’ve been apologizing quite a bit recently. I just said I was sorry to one of my classes today for overreacting to their inability to get on task the other day. They were shocked that a teacher apologized and claimed that they “deserved” it. I told them I didn’t agree and that I was sorry. They said they were sorry for wasting class time. I think we all left class feeling better after having cleared the air. I know we had a really productive day and the mood was a bit lighter too.

Leave a Reply

