Reflections

I’m taking some time over break to reflect on my experiences so far in this first year. Technically the semester isn’t over yet (and I still don’t think it’s a good idea to have finals after break) but it seems like a natural time for a bit of introspection.

These are my realizations thus far:

I need to be more organized. I teach in three different classrooms and need to find a better way of keeping track of paper. Not that I’ve lost any papers (Temporarily misplaced? Yep). It’s just that I seem to be carrying around everything — just in case.

I need to find a way to motivate the seniors – especially as we move into second semester and their first experience with trigonometry. I’m not thrilled with the way this course is designed. First semester is primarily a review of what they’ve done before. It isn’t until second semester that they actually see new material.

I need to learn to say “no” to new projects. I think I’ve been spreading myself too thin.

I need to find a way to balance having high expectations for each student and not being totally devastated when my expectations aren’t met.

On a positive note: I think I’m doing a decent job of building relationships with my students learners. I think they find me approachable and feel comfortable asking for help.

I also think I need to have more realistic expectations for myself. As much as I want to be a great teacher every day, I’m not sure how possible this is during the first year. As I have repeatedly been reminded recently – progress is good.

This entry was posted in First Year and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflections

  1. jd2718 says:

    Nice job. They all seem like quite reasonable and fairly important points.

    Let me underline “no new projects.” I am so pleased you figured this out less than half way through.

    And, yup, progress is good, and it should be enough to make you happy. Goals, expectations, yes and yes, but falling short doesn’t take away from “progress is good”

  2. Jackie says:

    Thanks for the affirmations!

Leave a Reply

