There once was a man from…

Yeah, I’m not gonna finish that one. However there is a new database of limericks courtesy of Randall Munroe of xkcd.

My trusty student aide perused the database and found a bunch of the mathy-sciency ones. If you don’t feel like combing through yourself (or don’t have the aide to beat all aides), you can find them on my del.icio.us account.

At Andy’s suggestion, we’ll be reading #106 at the conclusion of the Pendulum unit.

If a pendulum’s swinging quite free
Then it’s always a marvel to me
That each tick plus each tock
Of the grandfather clock
Is 2 pi root L over g.

Hmm… it just occurred to me that talking about limericks with high school freshmen might not be such a good idea.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to There once was a man from…

  1. Andy says:

    And a new math-y one just showed up: #337.

  2. Jackie says:

    It’s tagged. Thanks Andy!

  3. jd2718 says:

    I had no idea that he ran a blag, too. I am afraid of how much time….

  4. Jackie says:

    Well, I just found out about the forum discussions for the comic. Just in case you had some extra time to spare…

  5. Sarah says:

    The blag doesn’t take too much time, at least not on a regular basis. As for the forums, just stay away.

  6. Jackie says:

    Yeah, the forums. Lost an hour in there last Sunday. Luckily I found my way out.

  7. Pingback: Carnival of Mathematics 1000 « JD2718

  8. Ξ says:

    A very belated Thank You for posting this! I used some of the limericks on the cover pages of exams this semester, and ended up passing along the link to those who were particularly happy to read math limericks. 🙂

  9. Jackie says:

    Ξ Glad to hear there are others who enjoy reading math limericks! I love the idea of using these on the cover page of the final exam. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

