Saucy Calculator Use

I thought I had heard it all. I don’t know why I keep thinking this. I don’t know why I’m still surprised.

Student: Mrs. B, my calculator doesn’t work.
Me: Okay.
Student: The taco sauce shorted out my batteries.
Me: Huh?
Student: One of my friends put taco sauce in my calculator.
Me: You need to get new batteries. You might want to get new friends too.

*sigh* Freshmen.

This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Saucy Calculator Use

  1. eyeingtenure says:

    I remember hearing about someone saying something to this effect:

    “One of my friends stole my stereo.”

    I remember the reaction:

    “There is something wrong with that sentence.”

    http://awaitingtenure.wordpress.com/

  2. ken says:

    There’s a small country, just west of us, and in its capital city, a taco-sauce covered calculator is an epicurean treasure. Right up there with Abacus au-jus.

  3. Jackie says:

    Ken – were you in our cafeteria last week?

  4. Jackie says:

    Yesterday another one of my students finally brought her calculator to class. She found it in the dryer.

  5. Andy says:

    It should be pointed out that the calculator left in the dryer still worked, too.

  6. Would a solar powered calculator solved the problem?

  7. Jackie says:

    Graham,

    I don’t think they make a solar powered graphing calculator. Anyway, I’m sure his friends would have found a way to do something…

Leave a Reply

