*sniff*

I have remarkable students.

At the end of 3rd period study hall on Thursday, I got a phone call that necessitated my leaving the building, so I had to throw together sub plans on very short notice. At the beginning of 4th period, I apologized to the kids, explained that they’d have to look in their books for examples of the Law of Cosines and try to do the assignment. I told them I fully believed they could figure it out. I asked them to help each other.

I was trying not to show the students that I was upset/worried/nervous. Apparently I didn’t do a very good job of that. I apologized again on my way out. This is what I heard as I was leaving, “Don’t worry Mrs. B, we’ll figure it out. We love you.”

It’s a good thing I was walking out the door. Darn kids – making me all teary.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to *sniff*

  1. Jen says:

    Awww.

    When I was a journalist, an editor told me that every positive letter you got was worth TONS of negative ones, because people, by nature, are more likely to complain when they’re unhappy than to go out of their way to show appreciation. I try to apply that with teaching, too. One kid who bothers to tell me I’m a good teacher, or “I finally get this stuff,” is worth ten or twenty who complain that I’m boring or I never show movies 😀

  2. Sarah says:

    Too cute indeed. Hope the rest of your situation worked out smoothly, seems like the students could handle not being worried about.

  3. diane says:

    Darned kids only act that way when they know that someone cares about them in return.

  4. Jackie says:

    Jen – you don’t show movies either? 🙂 I try to remember that ratio, but sometimes it’s difficult.

    Sarah – Things are slowly getting better. My husband has some health issues. He’s still in the hospital, but is progressing well. Thank-you.

    Diane – Yeah, they’ve got me figured out pretty well. Reminds me of a story from a few weeks ago (I’m a sap and the kids know it). I guess I should just write that up.

Leave a Reply

