Yarr?

In honor of Talk Like a Pirate Day, this1 was my opening slide for my seniors.

I have a new division head this year. Of course, this was the day he chose to pop into one of my classes for the first time. He looked at the screen and appeared a bit puzzled. I explained that the students would be working all period at putting together the information we’ve developed thus far in order to solve the unit problem. Then I explained TLAPD. He just stared at me for few moments, then walked out.

Uh oh.

Five minutes later he returns with a sheet of paper, asks for everyone’s attention, and waits until they’re silent.

Big uh oh.

He then proceeds to tell three pirate jokes.

1Okay, I know it isn’t the best example of great design. Heck, it’s not even decent design. No, this is not the color theme I went with for the year. What I use every day didn’t seem to be very piratey.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Yarr?

  1. Mr. K says:

    What were the pirate jokes?

    I gave my class 3 minutes to talk like a pirate after the warm up. The kids seemed nonplussed.

    They also didn’t find my jokes about how pirates find the areas of circles, or play hangman, very funny.

    They also refused to talk like pirates when they went to the next teachers class.

    I think I did reinforce the opinion that i’m a tad odd, though.

  2. Jackie says:

    He opened with this one: “Why does it take pirates so long to learn the alphabet? Because they can spend years at C!”

    Honestly, I missed the second one as I was laughing too much at my students’ reactions.

    He closed with this one.

    My students thought I was a bit strange. Pretty sure I confirmed it today.

  3. “this one” seems to be missing the link.

    I know a few pirate jokes that don’t depend on “arrr”, but I’m pretty sure he wouldn’t have used them in a public school setting…

  4. Jackie says:

    Arr – so it is. Let’s try that again. This was it.

  5. Richard says:

    Kids love humor. When we do the Mirror Madness problem with the spiders hanging from the ceiling and looking at each other in mirrors in Year 2, well, we get a little off-track drawing the individual spiders (grandaddy spider get’s a little “spider walker” and baby spider wears a diaper full of green poo).

    It’s a short diversion, though. Luckily that was NOT the time for an AP to drop in my room for an impromptu observation….

  6. Jen says:

    I could only think of “a pirate walks into a bar with a steering wheel in his pants…” and even I am too smart to tell that one to 7th graders in a school setting.

  7. Jackie says:

    Wow. I guess I’ve been very boring with my spider drawings Richard.

    Actually Jen, my division head told me that one later – when no students were around of course!

    Somehow I’ve missed the plethora of pirate jokes that are out there…

Leave a Reply

